5 Questions with Marcel Morgenstern of Burnt Ship Bay and Pondview Estates Wines

Marcel Morgenstern is a sommelier and co-owner of new Niagara winery Burnt Ship Bay. Burnt Ship Bay wines will be hitting the shelves of the LCBO on February 15th, 2015. Marcel is also National and Export Sales Manager at Pondview Estate Winery in Niagara on the Lake.  Marcel has spent the past 15 years promoting the Niagara wine industry and his enthusiasm and humor makes him a perfect choice for our culinary series.

marcel-morgenstern-burnt-ship-bay-estate-winery-niagara-2  2013-burnt-ship-bay-wines

What are 5 things you can’t live without?

I have the first three right here in my house. My wife and two children. Food and drink would be another and then friends to eat and drink with.   The fifth would be travel because I can find different food and different drink… or maybe I should say because I can find different friends.  No, just kidding my friends are all great.

IMG_5609

 What is your favourite kitchen item?

Knives are the best part off the kitchen. I love sharpening them on the steel that is the best part!

 What do you love about working and living in Niagara?

My day starts with a commute along the canal and then through the vineyards.  It doesn’t get much better than that.  We have a lot of produce in Niagara and we can get so many things when they are in season that were grown right here.  The other thing that I love about Niagara is that I live close to a Unesco biosphere which is the Niagara escarpment.

DSC_0091 - Version 2

 What is your favourite thing to make in the kitchen?

Friends, I like to make friends in the kitchen and I love to have kitchen parties.

 What do you enjoy about being part of the wine industry in Niagara?

No day is ever the same. Working in the wine industry means you could be working on a marketing project, doing farm things,  pouring at a wine makers dinner, designing labels , teaching Wine 101, unclogging toilets, cleaning out the cellar before a wine tour shows up or launching a wine brand.  No day is ever what you plan it to be and that is what is so fun about it!

IMG_3160

 Bonus questions

 What is your dirty little foodie secret?

Well every once in awhile…not very often…I get 2 cheeseburgers from McDonalds with extra pickles.  The pickle is the true heart of the burger.

Leave a Reply

