Wine and chocolate…..is there anything else to life?!

We’ve spent time with friends and family and now it’s time to head back towards Melbourne where we will fly home.  I have two requests one being that we stop in Yering home to the Yarra Valley Dairy and the second being that we do a food tour.  Hubby wants to see a few wineries so we agree that wine and chocolate are the perfect ending to our whirlwind Australia trip. Yarra Glen is home to a zillion wineries….okay maybe I exaggerate a bit but there are a lot. We both love wineries but are sad that we can’t bring much home. Along our way we stop at a little country store for lattes.  I miss my tea latte, they were fantastic.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
We need a baked good to go with our lattes

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

DSC_0390
DeBortoli
DSC_0407
Yering Station
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
The gardens at Yering Station Winery
DSC_0397
Retail shop at Yering Station Winery

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We have no plan so we just stop when something looks interesting.  Hubby really says nothing when I mention Coldstream Hills, so we drive up with country road and make another stop.  Much to my delight it is a winery owned by wine critic, author and wine maker, James Halliday.  He says nothing as I look at the photos on the wall.  It is a quiet drizzly afternoon in wine country so we begin a chat with the retail assistant.  As it turns out she is filled with stories about wine stewarding for oenophile royalty and we just can’t get enough.  After a bit of tasting we head back to the car and I blurt out “hey, that was like meeting Tiger Wood’s caddie but in the wine world!”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
The awards showcase that catching my eye confirming my beliefs.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Coldstream Hills
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Rochford
DSC_0432
Hot Air balloon over the vineyards….such a beautiful sight

 

DSC_0412
Two kookaburras
DSC_0463
As I look for koalas in the trees I spot another rare sight a yellow tailed black cockatoo!

 

I must admit that I’m not really sure about the order of our visit as I reflect back but I did actually have my own designated driver.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
And there in the hills I see it….chocolate!

DSC_0499

 

 

We hit Yarra Valley Chocolaterie  at a perfect time right before Easter.  It was filled with bunnies of all shapes and sizes and smelled divine!!!DSC_0491

DSC_0490 DSC_0485 DSC_0484 DSC_0504

 

Leave a Reply

